burnout.jpg

Forty-eight percent of them think their work is hazardous to their family well-being. Another 45.5 percent will experience a burnout or a depression that will make them leave their jobs. And 70 percent say their self-esteem is lower now than when they started their position. They have the second-highest divorce rate among professions.

They are pastors.

Peter Drucker, the late leadership guru, said that the four hardest jobs in America (and not necessarily in order, he added) are the president of the United States, a university president, a CEO of a hospital and … a pastor.

The above is an excerpt from an article I read recently. Unfortunately, the article resonates with me and my family too often. (I found the article, and lots of other stuff worth reading, on Trey Morgan’s Blog).

For me the most challenging thing about being the preaching minister, particularly in our churches these days, is having so many people sitting on the pews every Sunday who think it is their God-ordained right and obligation to critique your every move in ministry. But, alas, one of the downsides to making the church a democracy.

I have found, being a middle-of-the-road kind of dude, that I am never conservative enough for the vocal right and I am certainly never progressive enough for the condescending left.

I have also found, however, that I am just about where the vast majority of the congregation is, a little left of the Eldership as a whole, and, if I stay in the Word, God uses my preaching and teaching to help a whole lot of people grow in their love for our Lord.

Personally, I can think of a lot of other things to be doing to make a living that would not be nearly as rewarding. I am thankful that the Lord allows me to do what I do–to His glory.

(I also pray a lot that the Lord will give me a much thicker skin!)

