unity25.gif

     “My prayer is not for them alone. I pray also for those who will believe in me through their message, that all of them may be one, Father, just as you are in me and I am in you.”

                                                                   –Jesus of Nazareth

♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥

      If on nothing else, every Christian agrees on one propositional truth: we ought to be one; there should be unity among all Christians.

     We agree on the concept. We agree that we should work on it. We even agree that it is not a peripheral matter.

     The problem arises when we try to make it happen. It does not take long to come to the conclusion that unity among believers is humanly impossible!

     If we demand that unity be founded on unanimity (which is what I think we do about 9 times out of 3!) then we will NEVER achieve unity, will we? If I read the New Testament properly, there was never unanimity among the believers–even on critical doctrinal matters (Romans 14-15). Hey, there was not unanimity among the Apostles (Acts 11-15, Galatians 1-2) and they had the Power of the Spirit of God performing miracles through them!

     Starting Sunday the Churches of Christ in the Richmond area are engaging in an “Area Wide Fellowship.” The theme is, That We May Be One. Different preacher, different church building, every night next week. I am supposed to stand up and say something worthwhile on Wednesday evening. My assigned topic is, That We May be One – in the Pursuit of Holiness.

     I must be honest, I don’t have a lot of hope that my “lesson” will be of much value. As one of my beloved teachers used to always say, “You have not properly preached a gospel sermon until you’ve answered the YBH question – Yeah, but how?” On this particular topic I am afraid that I will not be able to preach a gospel sermon properly.

     When it comes to the YHB question on maintaining unity among Christians I have no earthly idea what the answer is.

     Hey, maybe you do. I notice that I am getting quite a bit of traffic on this Blog. Any of you visitors care to help me craft this sermon? Let me hear your thoughts.

