Exchanged life spirituality stresses that our spiritual life is NOT a matter of us trying to do things FOR Jesus – it is a matter of trusting, claiming and resting in what He has already done for us.

Concentrating on the new reality of us being “in Christ” can radically transform us – from the inside out.

We respond cognitively by believing the gospel (the death, burial, and resurrection of Jesus for the redemption of humanity). We exercise our will by obeying from the heart that form of teaching …

We then spend a lifetime trying to experientially grasp what it means to be “in Christ.” The basis for our justification (grace through faith) is also the basis for our sanctification. The same source that washes away our sins at baptism also reforms us into His image day by day.

The key to living the exchanged life is remembering that ONLY Christ can live the perfect Christian life. My efforts are bankrupt because I am irreparably broken. I cannot engage in good works – everything I do will always be tainted with impure motives, erroneous knowledge, incorrect execution, and faulty results. All I can offer Him is brokenness and …

Often my brokenness drives me to try harder. Can you imagine? An imperfect, broken, flawed human being trying to regain perfection. What a dilemma. Oh wretched man that I am! Who will deliver me from this body of death?

Exchanged Life Spirituality presents us with a paradox. If His perfection is my ultimate goal then I must stop striving to attain it – it is out of my reach. If His goodness is my objective then I must stop fretting to achieve it – it is beyond my ability. If His perfection is all I’ve ever wanted then I must give up my delusional belief that I can have it without complete surrender to Him.

We cannot attain it; we can only receive it. It is not an award to be won; it is a gift to be accepted.

